Skip to main content
Centralia College logoCentralia College Kirk Library

Art History (Frey): Find Articles

ARTstor

    

Periodicals (hardcopy and online)

Kirk Library has current hardcopy issues of ArtForum International.

Art Forum and Art Newspaper are avaliable online through our subscribed databes.

NOTE:To access online journals off-campus (e.g. at home), you will need to validate that you are a CC student. You will need to enter your last name in capital letters (e.g. SMITH) and your student number (e.g. 910xxxxxx).

             

Find Scholarly Articles

What are Scholarly Articles?

Research-based scholarly articles are written by scholars, researchers, and experts in an academic or professional field to keep each other up to date on their research and to stimulate academic discussions and can be found in scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.  Because of their purpose, research-based scholarly articles will usually have original research or in-depth analysis of a topic.  They will be written in academic language (college level) and contain technical terms or jargon from that discipline.  Research-based scholarly articles are also very well cited through out the article and will have a bibliography (sometimes called "references") of all the materials the author used to write the article. Tip: the bibliography can help you get started in finding other information on the topic, which you may use to write your paper.

Why do you need to know about Scholarly Articles?

You are required to find research-based scholarly articles for your research papers in this class.  It is very common for college professors to require students to use scholarly articles when they assign research papers or essays in their classes.

Where can you find Scholarly Articles?

The easiest way to find research-based scholarly articles is through Kirk Library's online article databases listed below. Tip: you can limit your search results to show only full-text articles that are published in scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.  This will help you filter out articles that were not published in scholarly journals (e.g. newspapers, magazines, etc.).  Be careful: scholarly or peer-reviewed journals will also include letters to the editor, book reviews, news briefs, and other commentary or opinion articles that are not considered research-based scholarly articles.  You still need to evaluate the articles you find to determine which ones are the research-based scholarly articles.

How can I tell which articles are Scholarly Articles?

Look for the following characteristics of a research-based scholarly article.  If your article has all of the criteria below, then it is most likely a research-based scholarly article.  If you have any doubts, check with your professor to make sure.

  • Credentials of the author (e.g. is there a brief summary of the author's work experience or educational degrees or professional affiliations?)
  • Academic language (e.g. is it college level and have lots of technical terms or professional jargon?)
  • Is it reporting original research or doing an in-depth analysis of a topic?
  • Structure of the article (e.g. is there a formal structure in the paper where the author uses section headings and sub-headings?)

Online Databases


Kirk Library has many online databases you can use for your research needs. The following databases are recommended for you to complete your work for this class.

NOTE: If you are off campus (e.g. at home), you will need to validate that you are a CC student. You will need to enter your last name in capital letters (e.g. SMITH) and your student number (e.g. 910xxxxxx).

General Periodical Article Databases:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier contains full-text articles for approximately 4,600 periodicals. Covers topics including: philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology, law, controversial issues, literature, business, health & medicine, media studies, and many more. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

ProQuest: search all databases

Search all Proquest databases simultanously: Research Library, National Newspapers & Washington Newsstand, ABI/ Inform, and Nursing & Allied Health. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

Other Databases:

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a full-text online reference database (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.). The collection includes over three million entries from over 400 well-regarded encyclopedias and dictionaries from more than 60 of world’s best reference publishers. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

Encyclopedia Americana

(Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

 

Oxford English Dictionary

(Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

 

Go to the following webpage to get the full list of online databases:

http://library.centralia.edu/databasesatoz.html