Skip to main content
Centralia College logoCentralia College Kirk Library

SOC 101 Introduction to Sociology (White): Article Databases

Introduction to Sociology

Are you a Sociologist?

Databases

Kirk Library has many online databases you can use for your research needs.  The following databases are recommended for you to complete your work for this class.

NOTE: If you are off campus (at home), you will need to validate that you are a CC student.  You will need to enter your last name in capital letters (SMITH) and your student number (910xxxxxx).

 


 

Periodical Article Databases:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier contains full-text articles for thousands of periodicals (newspapers, magazines, & scholarly journals). Covers all topics, including controversial issues, business, health & medicine, psychology, sociology, science, religion, philosophy, media studies, and many more. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

ProQuest: search all databases

Search all Proquest databases simultanously: Research Library, Nursing & Allied Health Source, National Newspapers & Western Newsstand, Family Health, and ABI/ Inform. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

Other Databases:

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a full-text online reference database (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.). The collection includes over three million entries from over 400 well-regarded encyclopedias and dictionaries. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

CultureGrams

Reports on population, government, statistics, economics, culture, and many other aspects of over 182 countries. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

Go to the following webpage to get the full list of online databases:

http://library.centralia.edu/find/databases.html

How do you search Databases?

 


Databases give online access to articles published in a variety of periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals). Many databases specialize in a particular field of study, such as nursing, while others cover a wide range of topics. These databases are searchable by multiple access points: keywords, subject, title of article, author, etc.