Skip to main content
Centralia College logoCentralia College Kirk Library

ENGL 101 English Composition I: Find Periodical Articles

What are periodicals?

What is a Periodical?


A periodical is any publication that is issued on a regular basis, such as daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly. Periodicals include:

Scholarly/Academic/Peer-Reviewed Journals -  Publications aimed at professionals or researchers in a particular field, containing in-depth articles and reports of original research

Magazines - Popular publications usually containing advertising, sold by subscription or on a newsstand, and aimed at the general public

Newspapers - Current news, ususally published daily, weekly, monthly or on some other cycle

Trade and Industry publications - Published for practioners in applied fields

 

What are Periodical Databases and how do you search them?

 


Periodical databases give online access to articles published in a variety of periodicals. Many databases specialize in a particular field of study, such as nursing, while others cover a wide range of topics. These databases are searchable by multiple access points: keywords, subject, title of article, author, etc.

 

What are databases and why do you need them?

Library Databases


General Periodical Databases:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier contains full-text articles for thousands of periodicals. Covers topics including philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology, law, controversial issues, literature, business, health & medicine, media studies, and many more. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

ProQuest: search all databases

Search all Proquest databases simultanously: Research Library, National Newspapers & Western Newsstand, ABI/ Inform, and Nursing & Allied Health. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

 

Sample Subject-specific Periodical Databases:

 

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

 

Health Reference Center Academic

 

Opposing Viewpoints

 

U.S. History in Context

 

Go to the following webpage to get the full list of library databases:

 

http://library.centralia.edu/find/databases.html