Skip to main content
Centralia College logoCentralia College Kirk Library

Nursing : Databases

A research guide for nursing students

Nursing/medical/health databases

Periodical databases provide access to tens of thousands of periodicals and millions of articles. Although they are accessed through the web, these databases are not freely available.  As a Centralia College student you may make use of these important resources subscribed to by the library. (PubMed is the exception--it's freely available to all). Access the databases from the library's homepage under Research Databases:

Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)


Gale Health Reference Center Academic logo

Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)


PubMed Central: PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. This database is freely available on the web.


AJN, American Journal of Nursing This link will take you to a list of library databases. Scroll down the list and click on American Journal of Nursing.

Find Systematic Reviews

Systematic reviews can be found in all health care databases, however some databases specialize in systematic reviews. Centralia College does not currently subscribe to these databases, but many of the sources are open access and freely available to the public.

Plus, searching these is a useful way to find the titles and information about specific systematic reviews. Which you can then use to check access through our databases, and submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to borrow from a partner library.

Find Clinical Practice Guidelines

How do I search the databases from home?

Students can access the library's databases from home or anywhere off-campus.  When you click on the link for a database you will be asked to submit:

1) Your last name in capital letters

2) Your student ID number

Start searching! 

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source LibGuide

ILL - how it works

InterLibrary Loan (ILL) enables libraries to lend materials to each other. If you find an article or book that Centralia College doesn't own, we will probably be able order it for you from another institution. Most requests can be filled within one to two weeks. To make a request, use the online InterLibrary Loan request form.