Skip to main content
Centralia College logoCentralia College Kirk Library

Nursing : Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

A research guide for nursing students

Why use scholarly journals?

Scholarly or academic journals contain in-depth, technical articles that are meant for people who work in, or study, a particular field.
 

Articles are often very long and may contain very technical vocabulary, written in formal language. 


Many academic articles are also peer-reviewed or refereed. Before publication, articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author's peers (people who are experts in the same subject area).

All of our nursing journals are available online through library periodical databases. There are a number of databases, identified in this research guide, that provide you with access to hundreds of resources and hundreds of thousands of articles.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Presented here are the first and last pages of a scholarly article. Click on the highlighted areas for clues about what to look for when identifying scholarly articles.

Finding scholarly journal articles in periodical databases

Find full-text and/or scholarly articles in electronic format by searching library databases.
       BUT it is important to limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly articles by checking the appropriate boxes. Otherwise, your search will also include a mixture of results from popular magazines and newspapers and articles that may not be available in full-text format from the database. 

  • Example of how to find full-text articles in PROQUEST RESEARCH LIBRARY database:

 

 

  • Example of how to find scholarly journal articles in EBSCO's ACADEMIC SEARCH library database:

 

 

What if the Full Text of the Article you want is not Available?

Here's what to do if you find an article you want to read in one of our databases, but only a summary--not the full text--is available in the database you are using: From the library homepage, click on "journals by title," and search for the name of the journal the article is in to see if another one of our databases provides full text for that journal.

If you cannot find full text, you may request an Interlibrary Loan for that article. This is a free service offered to students and staff.