Skip to main content
Centralia College logoCentralia College Kirk Library

Research: A Step-by-Step Guide: Use Databases to Find Articles

This guide walks you through the steps of the research process. You'll learn about tools you can use for researching any topic, how to evaluate the sources you find, and how to get help. Especially useful for English 102 students.

What are Library Databases?

How do I find articles?

How do I search the databases from home?

Students can access the library's databases from home or anywhere off-campus.  When you click on the link for a database you will be asked to submit:

1) Your last name in capital letters

2) Your student ID number

Start searching! 

What are Periodical Databases and how do you search them?

 


Periodical databases give online access to articles published in a variety of periodicals. Many databases specialize in a particular field of study, such as nursing, while others cover a wide range of topics. These databases are searchable by multiple access points: keywords, subject, title of article, author, etc.

Use the dropdown arrows on "Find Periodical Articles" tab to see the video tutorials on using ProQuest and Academic Search Premier databases to conduct basic and advanced searches.

Online Databases


General Periodical Article Databases:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier contains full-text articles for approximately 4,600 periodicals. Covers topics including philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology, law, controversial issues, literature, business, health & medicine, media studies, and many more. (Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

ProQuest Research Library

One-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from this broad, general database. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.(Available to CC students, staff, and faculty.)

 

Sample Subject-specific Periodical Databases:

 

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

 

Health Reference Center Academic

 

Opposing Viewpoints

 

U.S. History in Context

 

Go to the following webpage to get the full list of online databases:

 

http://library.centralia.edu/find/databases.html