Skip to main content
Centralia College logoCentralia College Kirk Library

Teen Program: Find Articles in Databases

This guide will give you tips to help you with your research assignments, and it will provide links to sources of information.

What are databases and why do you need them?

What are Databases and how do you search them?

 Databases give online access to articles published in a variety of publications, including newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, reference books, and other sources. Many databases specialize in a particular field of study, such as nursing, while others are general and cover a wide range of topics. These databases are searchable by multiple access points: keywords, subject, title of article, author, etc. 

Below are video tutorials that will help you learn how to search two of our databases:

 

Which Databases should I Use?

See the tabs for Current World Problems and Science/Technology/Health in this libguide for links to suggested databases.

Here is a link to the list of all of our databases:

What's the Difference between Databases and the Web?

You can't find databases for free on the Web; you have to go through a library to use databases. Libraries pay to subscribe to them in order to give you access to more authoritative information that is not available, or not available for free, on the Web.

There's no quality control on the Web. You have to evaluate the information yourself--for authority, accuracy, bias, and currency. The information accessed via databases is generally more reliable because articles have been editorially reviewed, and the authors' credentials verified.

Databases can be more difficult to use than Web search engines like Google, but a well-constructed search will yield more relevant, higher quality results.