Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Centralia College logo

Getting Started with Databases

Let's Get Started!

If you are new to using the Kirk Library, the following video should be a helpful, basic introduction.

Introduction to the Kirk Library Website by Meredith Tummeti is Licensed CC-BY 3.0.  A transcript is available on YouTube.

What Are Databases and Why Do You Need Them?

You may be familiar with searching the internet for information using a search engine like Google, Safari, Edge, DuckDuckGo or Firefox.  Learn more about using the library databases for academic resources by watching this brief video.

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them by Yavapai College, used with permission.  A transcript is available on YouTube.

How to Choose and Use a Library Database

Now that you know why to choose library databases for academic resources for you research project, learn how to choose a database on the Kirk Library Website from Ryer, one of the librarians, in the following video.

Choosing Databases by Ryer Banta is licensed CC-BY 3.0.  A transcript is available on YouTube.

Did you happen to choose Academic Search Complete or Proquest Research Library? The following video helps you to get started.

Database Basics by Ryer Banta is licensed CC-BY 3.0.  A transcript is available on YouTube.

Creative Commons License
The content of these guides, unless otherwise noted, by Kirk Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.